Elite Athletes Honored at the 30th SPSA

Guests and sponsors gathered at the Crown Hotel ballroom on Saturday to celebrate Papua New Guinean elite athletes and teams at the 2022 SP Sports Awards.

The yearly event honors sportsmen, women, and teams who strike the delicate balance of athletic prowess and high integrity.

Weightlifter Morea Baru won the Male Athlete of the Year award and first-time Olympian and long jumper, Rellie Kaputin, took out the award for the Female Athlete of the Year category. The PNG Barramundis took home the Carbine Club Team of the Year for the second straight year.

Guest speaker, Darrie Nightingale, was unable to attend the ceremony, however, her long-time friend and former PNG Golf President, Bruce Mackinlay, presented her speech on her behalf.

Nightingale spoke about how sports can be used as a vehicle to teach both the young and old about values like discipline, focus, community building, and support.

“What’s important is the legacy we create to help achieve new heights.

“Improving ourselves as individuals, improving our country’s name as more and more of our next generation of sports stars make a name for themselves and for our country on a global stage and paving the way for self-belief for the next generation to set new heights by breaking through the ceiling.”

Other awards winners included:

  • Sports Photo of the Year – Fidelis Wasari.
  • Trukai Industries Sports Media of the Year – The National Sports Desk.
  • Sports Official of the Year – David Yareboinen.
  • Community Sports Initiative of the Year – Inclusive GymBad.
  • CPL Best Sports Person with a Disability – Morea Mararos.
  • Westpac Junior Male Athlete of the Year – Joshua Porter.
  • Westpac Junior Female Athlete of the Year – Amity Alarcos.
  • People’s Choice Awards – Papuan Compound Ravens.
  • Brands Pacific National Performance of the Year – NEST Athletics Club.

Visit the SP Sports Awards Facebook page to find out more and watch the livestream.