SPSA Finalists Announced

Finalists for the 2021 SP Sports Awards (SPSA) were announced today in Port Moresby.

This was after the Selection Panel met last week to deliberate on nominations that were received from around Papua New Guinea and reached an agreement for the top three finalists for each of the 12 categories on offer in this year’s awards.

This year’s nominations were slow but eventually picked up during the last two weeks before the closing date for entries, much to the delight of the SP Sports Awards (SPSA) Committee. Apart from the National Capital District, a good number of the entries received were from the other provinces.

Chairperson for the SPSA Selection Panel, Warwick Vele, said: “Being nominated is an achievement as it demonstrates recognition by the sporting community and public at large. There can only be three finalists for each category and one final winner but to make it to the final list is something everyone can be proud of because they are all outstanding sportsmen and women in their own rights.

“Congratulations to all the finalists and I thank the public for showing their appreciation and support by nominating.”

The Selection Panel met once to deliberate and were quite impressed with the nominations that came through. Here now are the finalists of the 2021 SP Sports Awards (in alphabetical order by surname):

 Male Athlete of the Year:

Baru Morea

Olam Justin

Vanua Norman

Female Athlete of the Year

Tere-Apisah Abigail

Kaputin Rellie

Team of the Year

Oil Search PNG Orchids

PNG Baramundis

PNG Special Olympic Bocce Team

National Performance of the Year

Kroton Hela Wigmen

Kamau Leeroy

Nest Athletics Club

Community Sports Initiative

Basketball for Good

Hevea Cup & Wellness Fair Expo

Sembo Sports Association

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Baea Sammy

Tuna Timothy

Vare Hila

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Apisah Patricia

Korowi Monica

Toua Konio

Best Sports Person with a Disability

Abraham Steven

Agari Hoada

Moi Judy

Sports Official of the Year

Dawes Joseph

Green Tony

Stubbings Barbara

Sports Photo of the Year

Keslep Simon

Sere Joseph

Taule Troy

Sports Media of the Year


NBC-Paul Taumik Jnr

Stan Joyce Award

Bank South Pacific

Institute of Business Studies

Trukai Industries Limited

The announcement of the finalists marks the opening of SMS voting for the People’s Choice Award. The winner of the People’s Choice Award is selected through a public vote, using FM100’s SMS voting platform. The more vote a finalist gets, the more chances of them winning.

Candidates for this category come from four finalists of the following:

Male Athlete of the Year

Female Athlete of the Year

Team of the Year

Sports Official of the Year

Voting for the People’s Choice Award category will close on May 25th  2021. The Awards Presentation will be hosted virtually from the home of the SPSA –Crowne Hotel– on Saturday May 29th 2021. It will be live-streamed on EMTV and social media.